World Editors Forum Board

The World Editors Forum Board is an advisory Board to the WAN- IFRA’s Supervisory Board regarding all editorial and content issues. It is regulated by art 8 of WAN-IFRA by-laws, and internal guidelines voted in 2014.

Qualifications for membership in the World Editors Forum are defined as follows:

  • working newspaper editors, including online publications, Sunday newspapers and news magazines,
  • heads and senior executives of journalism schools and institutes,
  • editors from wire services,
  • representatives from non-profit media organizations or media groups,
  • up to five editors mandated to represent their company in WEF, provided that the company is a WAN-IFRA active member.

Applications from other kinds of editors or distinguished persons are considered on a case-by-case basis. Admission is reserved to persons whose principal activity is related to journalism. Each application is formally accepted by the WEF Director. In case of doubt, the Director should refer the application to the WEF board. In such cases, the Board makes the final decision on each application at the following Board meeting.

There is no limitation of mandate.


President: Warren Fernandez, Editor in Chief, Singapore Press Holdings Ltd, Singapore

Arno Ahosniemi , Editor-in-Chief, Kauppalehti, Finland

Jane Barrett Global Editor, News Media Strategy, Thomson Reuters, United Kingdom

Catarina Carvalho Founder, Mensagem Lisbon, Portugal

Phil Chetwynd Global News Director, AFP, France

Liz Corbin Director Media & Head of News, European Broadcasting Union, Switzerland

José del Rio Secretary General of Redacción, SA La Nación, Argentina

Fatemah Farag  CEO, Welad Elbalad Media, Egypt

Javier Luis Garza Ramos WAN-IFRA Consultant – Regional Manager SMS MoFA, Mexico

Chani Guyot Publisher, RED / ACCIÓN, Argentina

Ritu Kapur  CEO, Quintillion Media Pvt Ltd, India

Wolfgang Krach Editor in Chief, Süddeutsche Zeitung GmbH, Germany

Brian McGory Editor, Boston Globe, United States

Esther Ng Chief Content Officer, Star Media Group Berhad, Malaysia

Rameeza Nizami Chairman & Editor-in-Chief, Nawa-i-Waqt Media Group, Pakistan

Toyosi Ogunseye Head of BBC West Africa Language Services, BBC, Deputy President WEF, Nigeria

Ertugrul Ozkok Columnist, Hürriyet Gazetesi, Turkey

Jean Christophe Ploquin  Editor in Chief, La Croix, France

Martha Ramos National Editorial Director, Organización Editorial Mexicana – OEM, Mexico

Marcelo Rech President, Associação Nacional de Jornais, Brazil 

Dmitry Shishkin Strategy Consultant, United Kingdom

Pamella Sittoni Executive Editor, Nation Media Group PLC, Kenya

Piotr Stasiński  Deputy Editor in Chief, Gazeta Wyborcza, Poland

Deirdre Veldon, Deputy Editor, Irish Times, Ireland

David Walmsley Editor-in-Chief, The Globe and Mail, Canada

Read more

World Editors Forum