22 - 23 February 2022
Virtual

Global eSummit: Journalism and the Climate Crisis

Register Here

Journalism and the Climate Crisis

February 22 Tuesday

11:00

Storytelling, Innovation and Formats

11:00 AM Singapore | 8:30 AM India | 4:00 AM Germany | 21:00 PM Mexico

Learn from newsrooms testing new formats to ensure their coverage reaches the audience on their terms. This session profiles VR, podcasts, newsletters and initiatives to build trust, understanding and increase engagement.

Moderator
Director, Digital Skills Agency, Australia
Speakers
Assistant News Editor, The Straits Times, Singapore
Data visualisation editor, The Straits Times, Singapore
Principal Correspondent, The Quint, India
Assistant Editor Environment, Economic Times, India
15:30

Collaboration

3:30 PM Singapore | 1:00 PM India | 8:30 AM Germany | 1:30 AM Mexico

How do you produce climate change journalism that has impact, on an ongoing basis, if your newsroom is tight on resources? Projects and methods to punch above your weight.

Moderator
Forum Manager, International Center for Journalists, Nigeria
Speakers
Journalist, Editor, Producer, and Co-Founder of The Fourth, Malaysia
Journalist & Media Engagement Specialist, Indonesia
Senior Coordinator, Internews Earth Journalism Network (EJN), Philippines
20:00

Making climate change coverage viable

8:00 PM Singapore | 5:30 PM India | 1:00 PM Germany | 6:00 AM Mexico

How to find and justify resources – people, training, tools – to keep climate coverage alive across the news organisation.

Moderator
Founder and CEO, Fathm, UK
Speakers
Global News Director, Agence France-Presse (AFP), France
Co-Founder and CEO, The Quint, India
Editor Jefe, The Straits Times y English/Malay/Tamil Media Group,, SPH Media Trust, Singapur
PhD researcher, the University of Central Lancashire, UK

February 23 Wednesday

11:00

Finding and conveying hope

11:00 AM Singapore | 8:30 AM India | 4:00 AM Germany | 21:00 PM Mexico

Stories about climate catastrophe can be a big turn off – will switching to a more constructive, solutions based style of reporting allow critical journalism that keeps the challenge of the climate crisis on top of the news agenda?

Moderator
Director, Digital Skills Agency, Australia
Speakers
Contributing Editor, Mongabay, India
Business Editor, SCMP, Hong Kong
Journalism Trainer and Content Consultant, Asia
Co-founder INKLINE, UK
15:30

Overcoming obstacles: how to keep climate change journalism on the front page and your audience interested

3:30 PM Singapore | 1:00 PM India | 8:30 AM Germany | 1:30 AM Mexico

Research points to big gaps between what is being produced and what people will engage with. This session will help you check your reporting and give you strategies to keep climate coverage alive, and on the front page.

Moderator
Global Editor, Media News Strategy, Reuters, UK
Speakers
Director, AKAS, UK
Co-Founder, AKAS, UK
Deputy Director, Reuters Institute for the Study of Journalism & Director of RISJ Fellowship Programmes, UK

Supported by

Contact us

Jen Teo

Deputy Director, Training & Special Projects

jen.teo@wan-ifra.org

Singapore

Cherilyn Ireton

Executive Director World Editors Forum

cherilyn.ireton@wan-ifra.org

United Kingdom